The Bucket List

Bucket lists are fun.  They give us hope, they help us to take advantage of opportunities that come before us, and they can be motivational in pushing us beyond our comfort zones.  Bucket lists are fun!

A word of caution…bucket lists are not the be all end all.  The Lord is in control!  It is HIS plans that we must follow, but it is also okay for us to say, “Lord willing, I would love to do (THIS) some day.”  

Today, we want you to start composing your own personal bucket list.  It is a bucket list with a twist.  Rather than just a big random list of things that you would maybe like to do someday, break it down.  A few years ago a friend challenged me to the 101 Things in 1001 Days Challenge.  It was an activity in which you list out 101 things you would like to accomplish over the next 1001 days (approximately three and a half years).  It was an amazing activity.  I really pondered over my list.  Some of the things were big, like taking a trip to Texas to see my older sister and her family-something I hadn’t done in years!  Others were small, like FINALLY finishing painting that one wall in our kitchen that needed to be done.  Some were fun things, like taking a family vacation or teaching my son to ride a bike!  Others pushed me, like volunteering in our church’s homeless program.  I don’t mind serving soup, it is hard for me to make conversation!  But I did it…and I was blessed so much by it.

Now, it is your turn!  Create your bucket list.  Rather than 1001 things in 101 days, break down into three categories:  the next three months (June, July, August), the next three years (2013, 2014, 2015), and the rest of your life!   Choose ten things to put into each category.  The next three months may be things like go camping in Kelowna or paint my bedroom.  The next three years may be things like get my first job or buy my first car or travel to Europe.  The rest of my life may be things like going bungee jumping in Australia or going on a mission trip to Africa.

Think big, challenge yourself!  Don’t be afraid to do something that is hard for you!  You can do it!

Once you have created your list, post it here.  This blog will exist.  Come back to it.  As you complete something, tell us!  We want to follow you on this journey!  Tell us WHEN you did it and HOW!  

DUE:  Monday, May 13th, 2013 by 11:59 p.m.

Leave a Reply

