Weekly Response #2

We have spent a week in class discussing writing and the various aspects of traditional writing.  We have talked a bit about the process of writing and how to start, follow through, and create a finished product.  Keeping the process of writing in mind please answer the following questions in the comment space below by class time on Friday, September 13.

1.  What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?

2.  Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?

3.  Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?

23 thoughts on “Weekly Response #2

  1. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come easiest to you?
    I find it fairly easy to make an outline (although not any of the outlines in the “Writers Inc” book, but one that makes sense to me!) for what I am going to write, although I do not always follow it exactly. It is helpful for me to display it in its simplest form before I begin to expand on it.

    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    I have a hard time editing sometimes. This is not because there is necessarily always a lot to fix (although occasionally there is), but because I don’t understand all areas of grammar or how to properly write certain things. The problem is that I just don’t always know what needs to be fixed!

    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    I definitely need to work on my grammar and sentence structure so that I am able to recognize when I make mistakes in my writing and am able to properly correct them. “Working on it” will invoive: asking questions, paying attention in class, and looking specific issues up.

    • Working on it by asking questions is the best thing to do! So often students are afraid to ask those questions. Questions are the best way to learn!

  2. 1. The writing process that comes easiest for me is drafting and brain storming.
    2. The most hardest writing process for me is editing.
    3. The one that I need to work on the most is editing. When I get the chance on working on editing I will take the criticism and listen to what people have to say.

    • Why are these areas hard for you? Unpack that a bit and expand. Tell me why editing is hard. Is it because you don’t know the rules? Is it because you don’t enjoy the process?

  3. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?
    Gathering ideas.
    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    Beginning is always been the toughest part for me. I can think of multiple ideas and topics for essays or any types of writing but starting is always the most difficult.
    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    Constructing better essays and putting together more formal essays. I need to take the time to read over my work and spending those extra minutes to edit and perfect.

    • I can see how gathering ideas is the easiest for you. You are incredibly creative and have so many great ideas! Hopefully in this course we can teach you some strategies for organizing those ideas and getting a good start.

  4. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?
    The easiest part of the writing process for me would be the brain storming process. I find that it is really easy for me to come up with good ideas on what to write about or how to start a story.

    2. What part of the writing process do you find most difficult?
    For me, the most difficult part of the writing process is, putting my ideas into words and onto the paper. I can come up with idea without a problem, but putting those idea down on paper into tangable words is were i struggle.

    3.Which part of the writing process do you feel you need to work on the most and what does “working on it” look like to you?
    I feel like the area i need the most help on is my editing. I am not a very good speller and my grammer leaves something to be desired. This makes editing very difficult for me and I would love to feel better about my editing skills.

    • Hopefully in this course we can teach you some strategies for organizing all of those great ideas into that “tangible” work. Our goal is to help you reach that point where you can truly achieve the goals you set forth for yourself.

  5. 1. The easiest part of the writing process is defiantly brainstorming, I have lots of ideas just floating around so it isn’t difficult to pick a few out here and there. Brainstorming is also enjoyable its just nice to empty your mind of the ideas flowing around and everyone has them good bad neutral. The brain makes over 50,000 thoughts a day its not hard to concentrate on one of those.

    2. The hardest part of the writing process for me is the editing. If we didn’t have spell check in our day n’ age i would be in big trouble. I can get my words to flow but not always in the most perfect or orthodox grammar.

    3. I need to work on editing and finalizing my work but honestly i am not sure how I am going to be able to do that. I have tried in the past and it is simply something i struggle with all the time. I think when i edit i should just use a writers inc. book that seems to work for most people.

    • It is great that you recognize the areas that you need to work on. I think that you can work on editing and finalizing by utilizing programs available to you. One of the most valuable tools is other writers! Ask people that you know have strengths in your weak areas to go through your work with you and truly LISTEN to what they have to say and teach you. This will help!

  6. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?
    Fictional Stories are the easiest for me and a lot of my ideas are not needed to put in a box
    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    Essays are the most difficult for me because I have to force myself to think of very difficult topics
    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    Essays are tug of war or struggle.

    • Fictional stories are more of a category…the process refers to things such as brainstorming, editing etc. Is there an area like that which you are good at? Do you think that essays could be made easier for you if you try to think of them less as something difficult and more as something you can approach with creativity?

  7. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come easiest to you?
    The writing process that seems to come easiest to me would probably be outline, drafting and brainstorming. I don’t always do an outline, but when I’m told I have to do an outline it makes it a lot easier to do. It makes it easier to do an essay. The reason I don’t usually do an essay outline is because it takes to long to do and sometimes it doesn’t really help me. It looks like a bunch of words on a paper.

    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    The writing process that is most difficult to me would have to be fixing someone elses essay. I really suck and grammer and spelling, so if I’m reading someone elses essay I’m not really sure what I’m looking for, so I can’t really help them. Or if I fix their essay I might make the wrong mistake.

    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    Grammer and spelling on someone elses essay. I’m really bad at talking and so I don’t really fix my mistakes when I talk, and it kinda of just goes into my writing. The “working on”, would be asking questions and maybe asking my sister (who loves to correct me :P) and just remembering what we did in class.

    • It is interesting that although you know having an outline usually helps, you don’t always do it. Outlines can come in different forms as well. Also, for editing you can edit for more than just grammar. You can help them by letting them know if it even makes sense! Questions are good!

  8. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?
    The easiest part of the writing process for me is brainstorming. Jotting down ideas and thoughts, before having to sort through them and organize them.
    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    Usually the most difficult part of the writing process for me is finalizing my writing. Editing out whats not good or not necessary and changing things is difficult because I often edit out to much or not enough.
    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    I think I need to work on my editing skills. I need to put more time and effort in when I edit to create my finished product. Usually when I edit my writing I don’t take much time to do it, but I think if i start putting more effort into it my editing, ultimately my finished product will turn out better.

    • The editing process is hard for everyone. There is always that question…is this needed? Think about that “Clutter” article we discussed and ask yourself if your writing will be okay without whatever you are questioning.

  9. 1. What part of writing process seems to come easier to you?
    fairytale stories make the easiest outline for me. I find I can go into a world of imagination and I can understand it a lot easier.

    2.Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    I find editing is very difficult for me. I find it hard to find what needs to be fixed and I am not very good at grammar or punctuations and ect. I can’t pick what needs to be fixed and I don’t necessarily know what sounds better or what sounds best.

    3. Which part of writing do you feel that you need to work on?
    I need to work on my structure and how to write things properly. I need to work on my grammar and wording things. I need to work on learning how to make things make sense and sound nicely together.

  10. 1. What part of writing process seems to come easier to you?
    editing my writing. i can find stuff i want to change and add in after i have a first draft easily if i like what i have down.
    2.Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    getting started. i often cant find a idea i like to write about and end up being stuck for a long time till i find one i like.
    3. Which part of writing do you feel that you need to work on?
    i feel i need to work on just writing down whatever comes to mind instead of trying to have it be perfect on the first draft.

  11. 1. What part of writing comes easiest to you?
    – The easiest part of the process is prewriting because it basically doesn’t take an extreme amount of effort and is something you don’t usually have to write stuff down unless you can’t remember what you thought in your head.

    2. Which part of the writing process comes hardest to you?
    – The hardest part of the process is probably the rough draft part. Even though it allows you to write freely it is still sometimes challenging to put all your thoughts into the right sentences and sayings.

    3. Which part of writing do you feel that you need to work on?
    – The part of writing I need to work on is the rough draft part or the prewriting. Just getting ideas in my head sometimes is hard for me and then writing it down after in the correct format is very tricky at points.

  12. 1. what part of writing comes easiest to you?
    Probably gathering the ideas and making up stories in my imagination. It’s quite easy for me to do so.

    2. Which part of the writing process is most difficult for you.
    probably focusing on my grammar, staying on the same topic. I tend to keep going on and thinking of different stories and topics. I also find having the pressure of being graded on my story limits my imagination to what I would like to write about.

    3. Which Part of writing do you feel that you need to work on?
    Probably expanding vocabulary and finding new words to express ideas, and thoughts. I also get confused about where to put apostrophes and commas, as grade 2 as that sounds :/

  13. 1. What part of the writing process seems to come the easiest to you?
    Drafting is the easiest part of the writing process to me because That is where all of my original ideas come from. It is a broader scope to work with because I don’t know which parts will have to be cut and/or edited. All of my ideas can come forward without the concern that they will need to be fixed.

    2. Which part of the writing process is the most difficult for you?
    Prewriting is the most difficult process for me because I often tend to just jump into writing whether it be an essay or a story and don’t pay much attention to organizing and processing different ideas. I found that sometimes it helps my work but other times hinders it.

    3. Which part of the writing process do you feel that you need to work on the most and what will “working on it” look like for you?
    I need to work on editing because whether it be editing my own work or someone else’s, I have trouble, not so much on correcting grammar infractions, but more so revising misused terms and repairing sentences that could be said differently. I just need more practice in this subject

  14. 1. The easiest part of the writing process for me is drafting, once I get an idea or story that I want to share I am able to work fast and without much trouble.

    2. The hardest part of wring is prewriting. For me getting an idea started is what usually takes the longest and can sometimes be frustrating. If prewriting wasn’t the hardest part I would say that editing is the next hardest thing. This is because after I say what I want to I don’t like to change what I have done.

    3. Prewriting is the biggest area in which I need to work on. I feel to be better at prewriting I have to care less about what i’m writing and just get something on the paper. This means even if it isn’t the best quality work at least I have an idea started that I can build off of.

Leave a Reply

