Communicating Feedback 101

This form is very helpful in communicating feedback when editing.  When you edit another person’s work try to use at least four of the sentence starters.

Writer/Author to request

 

To look

for feedback

What would you do to improve this?

Does this make sense?

How could my idea be improved?

Is this clear?

I think I need help in … Any suggestions…

This area in particular gave me trouble, any tips?

Reviewer

Pick 4 sentences starters to offer feedback

 

To better

understand

One point that was not clear to me was …

Are you saying that …

Can you please clarify?

This is unclear for me, can you explain…

To share

an idea

Another idea is to …

What if we tried …

I have an idea, we could try …

What about doing it like this…

I wonder…

To

disagree

I see your point, but what about …

Another way of looking at it is …

I’m still not convinced that …

What about considering this side…

To

challenge

How did you reach your conclusion?

What makes you think that?

How does it explain …

Does it line up with the best practises we discussed?

Where is it when it comes to alignment?

Is this in line with our purposes and intent?

To provide

positive feedback

One strength is …

Your idea is good because …

This is really good because…

I really appreciated…

To provide constructive

feedback

The point would be stronger if …

Another way to do it would be …

What if you said it like this …

Have you thought about this…

Leave a Reply

